A Defending Crusader…

The best defense is to be good and offensive…or something like that.

I have not forgotten.

Posted by Godefroi on September 11, 2008

Seven years ago, right now (post time), I was at work.

 

I was casually passing through the break area, headed for the smoking area.  I had just returned the night before from a business trip to Mexico.  I was glad to be home.

 

The TV was always on in the break room.  CNN, I think.  I glanced up and saw a burning building…a building I faintly recognized.  It took a moment for me to realize that it was the World Trade Center, and I was quite surprised when the newscaster said that someone had just flown an airplane into it.  I stayed watching, standing, with detached curiosity, wondering if the pilot had had a heart attack or seizure or something.  How else could a plane hit one of the Twin Towers?

 

I was shocked when the screen showed a second plane ramming into the building – 15 minutes later?.  I knew there was no possible way that a this was an accident.  I sat down, incredulous.

 

I kept watching for quite some time, my cigarette and my work responsibilities forgotten.

 

The announcer stated that up to 50,000 people worked at the WTC – and I wept.  And I prayed.  And I wept some more.

 

I was still watching, though no longer in tears, nearly an hour later when the news came of the Pentagon being hit.

 

I was numb.  I went and smoked my cigarette, finally.  Four of them, actually.  Then I went back to my desk, avoiding the TV.

 

I left work about two hours later.  I couldn’t focus and wasn’t getting anything done anyway.  The TV was on at home, but only briefly.  My children very small at the time, kept asking questions my wife and I couldn’t answer.  Why?  Who?  How?  WHY??

 

I listened to news radio for several weeks, learning that “Islamic extremists” (Al Qaeda?  Who the hell is that?) had been to blame for the attacks.  They had perpetrated attacks in the past too.  But then, much of the world didn’t like us (America) all that much anyway, so here was just another group.

 

And then…I went on with life, with my head in the sand, for 5 years.

 

Then in September of 2006, I stumbled on to The Brussels Journal, and read about how Islam was ruining Europe.  From there I discovered Jihad Watch, and learned how Islam ruins everything wherever it goes, killing or subjugating the people who don’t convert, then forcing the survivors to pay protection money.

 

Eventually I discovered TROP, and saw in hard numbers the current cost of the same driving force that was behind the 9/11 attacks.  That was the moment, for me, in deciding to add another voice to the too-small crowd warning my fellow Americans about the true danger we are actually in.

 

Today I remember those fallen – the innocent victims of 9/11, and those fighters against terror in Iraq, Afghanistan, and elsewhere.  I pray that God will comfort and strengthen their loved ones.  I pray that we, as a nation, will turn to Him…He will not put up with our disdain for him forever.

 

I will never forget.  I will never surrender.

 

I hear people saying we don’t need this war
I say there’s some things worth fighting for
What about our freedom and this piece of ground?
We didn’t get to keep ’em by backing down
They say we don’t realize the mess we’re getting in
Before you start preaching
Let me ask you this my friend

Have you forgotten how it felt that day
To see your homeland under fire
And her people blown away?
Have you forgotten when those towers fell?
We had neighbors still inside
Going through a living hell
And you say we shouldn’t worry ’bout Bin Laden
Have you forgotten?

They took all the footage off my T.V.
Said it’s too disturbing for you and me
It’ll just breed anger that’s what the experts say
If it was up to me I’d show it every day
Some say this country’s just out looking for a fight
After 9/11 man I’d have to say that’s right

Have you forgotten how it felt that day
To see your homeland under fire
And her people blown away?
Have you forgotten when those towers fell?
We had neighbors still inside
Going through a living hell
And you say we shouldn’t worry ’bout Bin Laden
Have you forgotten?

I’ve been there with the soldiers
Who’ve gone away to war
And you can bet they remember
Just what they’re fighting for

Have you forgotten all the people killed?
Some went down like heroes in that Pennsylvania field
Have you forgotten about our Pentagon?
All the loved ones that we lost
And those left to carry on
Don’t you tell me not to worry about Bin Laden
Have you forgotten?

Have you forgotten?
Have you forgotten?

 

One Response to “I have not forgotten.”

  1. I read about a plane hitting the WTC on the Internet before I left for work that morning. Like you, I thought, “How could that happen?” Probably a heart attack; maybe mechanical failure. Hopefully just clipped it and didn’t take out a few floors. I didn’t even read the article–just the headline.

    On my way to work I heard on the radio that another plane hit the towers. Even the dullest wooden top knew that couldn’t possibly be an accident.

    But again, like you, it would be a long time before I got it. I started seeing the dark cloud after Beslan. I had a close Muslim friend, and his attitude about the atrocities was alarming. Fortunately, as you say, the necessary information was out there, and when I found it I saw that everything he told me about his faith was BS.

    I soon learned all there is to know about the holy faith of the children of Abraham: it is so holy that it brooks no criticism or insult. All opposed must die. To Allah, every knee must bend and every head must bow.

    No, none of us should ever forget.

Leave a Reply

 
