A Defending Crusader…

The best defense is to be good and offensive…or something like that.

A Founding Thought

Posted by Godefroi on August 19, 2008

Most people, when considering the beliefs of Thomas Jefferson, would consider him a Deist, that is, one who believes in God but also that God does not interfere in the affairs of the world. 

If God does not meddle in mortal matters, then the following idea expressed in Jefferson’s Notes on the State of Virginia makes no sense.

“God who gave us life gave us liberty. And can the liberties of a nation be thought secure when we have removed their only firm basis, a conviction in the minds of the people that these liberties are a gift from God?  That they are not to be violated but with His wrath?  Indeed I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just, and that His justice cannot sleep forever.”

What reason is there to tremble for America if God doesn’t get involved?

The Truth is that God cares for His creation, and He is active in it. 

Jefferson’s last sentence bears remembering in these licentious times of rampant immorality.  “God Bless America” may be our wish, but it’s certainly within His realm of authority to do otherwise…and woe to us when He does.

2 Responses to “A Founding Thought”

  1. That IS a curious notion for a Deist, isn’t it? Sounds more like a modern-day dispensationalist.

    As for the wrath to come, woe to us, indeed. In real life I am more an amateur eschatologist than an amateur anti-jihadist, and while my eschatology has long differed substantially from most extant varieties, it has really undergone a revision since I first became aware of the threat of militant Islam.

    Fact is–and I’ll say this more clearly than I have on my own blog, where I’ve been warned by folks I respect not to dwell too much on my theological and eschatological beliefs–militant Islam is itself a divine chastisement for our own failings. This is why, as I HAVE said on my own site, we cannot defeat this enemy or fend off this menace without first reforming ourselves.

    So when Our Lord returns, do you think He will find faith on Earth–that is, “a conviction in the minds of the people that (our) liberties are a gift from God,” as Jefferson put it?

    An excellent question.

    I’m pretty sure that’s why Christ asked it, albeit rhetorically.

    You take care, my friend. I’ll be by when things settle down.

    Blogburst tonight. Oy. Like I have time.

    HAID

  2. Godefroi said

    I suspect that upon Christ’s return, most of us here in the U.S. will fall under the classification of the church in Laodicea:

    I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot; I wish that you were cold or hot. So because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of My mouth. Because you say, “I am rich, and have become wealthy, and have need of nothing,” and you do not know that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked…

    Sounds like us, doesn’t it?

    And, to your point that we need to reform ourselves,

    …I advise you to buy from Me gold refined by fire so that you may become rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself, and that the shame of your nakedness will not be revealed; and eye salve to anoint your eyes so that you may see.

    Best regards,
    ~GdB

Leave a Reply

 
